Wedding Display Tray

I have a confession to make…I LOVE display trays. But, (and it’s hard even for me to believe) I have never worked with one before. Why? Because I have been a little intimidated by them. So, when I received this tray from Dr Phil, I was a lot happy and excited and a little bit nervous. But, honestly, I have to say this has been one of the most FUN projects I have ever done! These are some of my wedding photos mixed in with the all new For Always collection from Close to My Heart. I LOVE this color combo!!!!!

CRW_2956

The For Always collection lends itself so well to a wedding theme I could not help but use my wedding photos! The elegant black and white papers with the red and turquoise cardstock made such a bold contrast. Yet, it still looks very elegant. I happen to love black and white photos so my photographer made sure I got a lot of them (Thanks again Becky!!!) That worked nicely with this project because my wedding colors were actually pink and black! Not sure that would have been a great combo with the reds and turquoise. The For Always collection also has some yellows on some of the embellishments and solid cardstock, but I ended up not using any of the yellow here. One of the things I really liked about this collection is that the patterned papers are all black and white, and then there are the colors on the embellishments and solid cardstock papers. So, as I was working with this collection it dawned on me that you could use just one color, two colors, or all three. Or you could do a project in just the black and white. I love the versatility of it all!

CRW_2958

I love all the little details in this collection, like this film strip sticker from the For Always My Stickease Assortment.

CRW_2959

I love to layer embellishments of different sizes to create strong focal points. This is a heart sticker, a black flower sticker and a turquoise flower embellishment. I also threw in a zebra striped clip that I got at an office supply and some thread behind the heart.

CRW_2962

I am still LOVING the White Daisy ink! This is a sentiment from the Love Doily stamp set on lagoon cardstock.

CRW_2956-pin-cushion-upclose-view

This is a new product that I am super excited about!!!! Its called Textiles and this one is part of the For Always collection. Look closely. That black with the white handwriting is NOT paper. It’s FABRIC!!!!!! Wow! I can see so many possibilities here! I actually made a pin cushion by stitching this to card stock which I then adhered to the pretty floral patterned paper from the For Always collection. Then using the pins from the Bling Assortment I just pinned my pics to it! But that’s not all that makes this section of the tray so special…

CRW_2964

Do you see that button to the left holding that twine that is connected to the pin cushion?

CRW_2965

Hmm, I wonder what happens when I unwrap the string? Well, I mean besides that now you guys all know that I am in desperate need of a manicure, lol!

CRW_2966

Wait, it looks like…

CRW_2967

..it opens!!! This is my favorite part of the whole project! Give me an interactive project and I am the happiest girl =) Here on the inside I cut one 4×6 photo of me and my bridesmaids and flower girls to fit into the two hidden compartments of the tray. On the back side of the pin cushion the paper was dark so I used some more of the White Daisy ink and the Doily stamp to brighten it up a little bit.

This really was a fun project and such an elegant and pretty collection to work with!

Thank you for letting me share this super fun project with you!!!

Abigail —Scrapbookista.com

One thought on “Wedding Display Tray

Leave a comment